Metaphotonics and metasurfaces with Mie resonances

Prof Yuri Kivshar, Nonlinear Physics Center, Australian National University, Canberra
Leuchs-Russell-Auditorium, Staudtstr. 2
Location details

Metamaterials---artificial electromagnetic media that are structured on the subwavelength scale---were initially suggested for the realisation of negative-index media, and later they became a paradigm for engineering electromagnetic space and controlling propagation of waves.  However, applications of metamaterials in optics are limited due to inherent losses in metals employed for the realisation of artificial optical magnetism. Recently, we observe the emergence of a new field of all-dielectric Mie-resonant metaphotonics aiming at the manipulation of strong optically-induced electric and magnetic Mie-type resonances in dielectric and semiconductor nanostructures with relatively high refractive index. Unique advantages of dielectric resonant nanostructures over their metallic counterparts are low dissipative losses and the enhancement of both electric and magnetic fields that provide competitive alternatives for plasmonic structures including optical nanoantennas, efficient biosensors, passive and active metasurfaces, and functional metadevices. This talk will summarize the recent advances in all-dielectric Mie-resonant metaphotonics including active photonics as well as the recently emerged fields of biosensing, topological photonics, and nonlinear metasurfaces.

Yuri Kivshar received a PhD degree in theoretical physics in 1984 from the Institute for Low Temperature Physics and Engineering of the USSR Academy of Science (Kharkov, Ukraine). From 1988 to 1993 he worked at several research centres in USA, Spain, and Germany, and in 1993 he moved to Australia where later he established Nonlinear Physics Center at the Australian National University. Yuri Kivshar’s research interests include nonlinear physics, metamaterials, and nanophotonics. He is Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science, and also Fellow of OSA, APS, SPIE and IOP. He received several international awards including Pnevmatikos Prize in Nonlinear Science (Greece), Lyle Medal (Australia), Lebedev Medal (Russia), The State Prize in Science (Ukraine), Harrie Massey Medal (UK), and Humboldt Research Award (Germany).

MPL Newsletter

Stay up-to-date with MPL’s latest research via our Newsletter. 

Current issue: Newsletter No 16 - February 2021

Click here to view previous issues.

MPL Research Centers and Schools