The IMPRS Physics of Light has been established in 2006. It is situated at the Max Planck Institute for the Science of Light (MPL) in Erlangen and run jointly with the Friedrich-Alexander University Erlangen-Nürnberg (FAU).

Several renowned principal investigators collaborate in the framework of IMPRS-PL. Doctoral students are admitted throughout the year, whereas Master students can apply until January 15th and May31st.

More information about the members of IMPRS-PL can be found by browsing the different sub-pages of this section.

Leading panel


Prof. Florian Marquardt
MPL (Theory)
and FAU (Department of Physics)


since 2021

Prof. Nicolas Joly
MPL (Microstructured Optical Fibres)
and FAU (Department of Physics)


MPL Research Centers and Schools